Girl Scout Mom and Cookie Guilt

I love the Girl Scouting organization and love supporting my local Girl Scouts.  I have been a registered Girl Scout for about 34 years. I have been the Cookie Mom in the past and this year I am helping my daughter’s troop in another way so we have a different cookie mom.  I bought enough boxes from my daughter, but I always feel guilty that I should buy more when I see the booth sales outside of the grocery store.  I bought a box from a girl scout selling at the store even though I still had some of my daughter’s left to sell.  I also felt guilty for not buying more from other girls at the stores.  My daughter has come to terms with the fact that I feel compelled to purchase cookies from each booth sale that I come across during the 3 week booth sales season.

I feel bad that troops over ordered and feel like I need to help them out.  I am proud of those girls out there selling. Selling cookies builds confidence, teaches money management, teaches manners, builds character, and teaches how to handle rejection.

Last weekend after already buying from my daughter and a couple other booth sales I felt so bad when I just didn’t have it in me to buy another box from another girl.  I may have been in a hurry or just didn’t have the cash on me at the time.  I am sure I was more disappointed in myself for not buying from that girl than she was.

I know I am not the only person that does this or feels the same guilt as me.  Could this trait be inherited from your parents?  My mom bought 5 boxes from my daughter, then an additional 5 from various girls that come to her door or are at the grocery store. My dad was watching my kids one evening while I was out and a Girl Scout came to my house.  Keep in mind that my front room was full of cookies to deliver and we had a cooler full of more boxes to sell.  He didn’t hesitate to purchase his favorite box of peanut butter sandwiches from this scout. How many other parents do the same thing?

Buying cookies from Girl Scouts selling door to door or in front of the store does more than supporting that troop or the Girl Scout organization, it supports the confidence and character of the girl selling you that box of Thin Mints, Lemonades, Peanut Butter Patties, Peanut Butter Sandwiches, Carmel DeLites, or Thanks A Lots.

One thought on “Girl Scout Mom and Cookie Guilt

  1. Pingback: Girl Scout Mom and Cookie Guilt | juliekellerblog

Leave a Reply

